mind expanding nonsense

The Finger

The Finger.  I hope the above drawing isn’t so subtle that we don’t know what we’re talking about here.  But the term kinda sounds German to me.  But they’d probably say something like das phinggerer.  But actually, the finger (middle finger salute) or “bird” has been around since Greek and Roman times, and in Latin, was called “digitus impudicus” (the impudent finger).  This is not to be confused with Biggus Dickus of Monty Python fame, despite what they may seem to have in common.

When I was a little kid, giving someone “the finger” was a big deal, and usually resulted in a fight.  Unless, you gave it at a considerable distance, and were pretty fast on your bicycle.  As a teenager, I preferred the term “bird”, which instead of being given, was flipped to someone.  Again, preferably done at a distance for safety reasons.

In ancient times, the display of the middle finger was a sign of humiliation, and was used liberally. The  Roman Emperor Caligula, a  ‘pioneer of perversity’, often made his subjects kiss his middle finger instead of his hand; he was assassinated shortly after that little number.  The finger went underground during the Middle Ages, because the Catholic Church thought it holy when used during the Mass.  Can’t you just see a bunch of filthy minded peasants (Italians of Roman descent) just cracking up and laughing their asses off when the Priest flipped everyone in the congregation the Holy Bird on behalf of the Lord.

Well, enough pioneering in perversity, lets get our covered wagons to the point.  The Finger, or Bird, is basically a gift as it is something you give to another individual; be it by flipping or sign language.  So I’ve come up with an award, called “The Finger” which from time to time I’d like to give to individuals I find particularity deserving .

Guess who’s the first recipient?  I AM.  Yep.  If ya read my post on The Hershey Highway (which is not my way), you’d know I just had my annual digital rectal exam.  And the good ol Doc gave me the Bird right where the sun don’t shine.  Well, in case you’re wondering, everything is A-OK down there; or should I say Up there?

Timing is everything, and good old President Obama beat me to the punch by awarding the “Impudent Finger” to our next recipients: Donald Trump and the “Birthers”.   The President finally put this whole insane question as to where he was born [Honolulu Hawaii] to rest by releasing  (flipping them) his “official birth certificate”.  What’s astounding is that the Donald is taking full credit for forcing the issue, and is now busily questioning Obama’s college grades and transcripts.  Who was that Roman Emperor that fiddled while Rome burned??

So with a big hearty Fuck You, please accept this award on behalf of myself and all other American citizens who think there are bigger issues that need to be dealt with.

BTW…Feel free to copy and print this graphic, and award it to any group or individual you consider worthy of recognition.

Comments on: "The Finger" (12)

  1. First, phinggerer is NOT german. Finger is finger. Written the same and pronounced, well, almost the same (to 99%).
    But that is almost as unimportant as the question of Obamas roots (wasn’t McCane born in Panama?). Here in Germany, there was something similar going on. Our minister of defence had to leave office, because he faked his dissertation. But he did a good job. Everybody loved him. Now, every inconveniant politican is beeing checked for fraud (I bet Frau Merkel’s doctor of physics is not real… who do I have to call?). I award the digitus impudicus to myself for this thought. Prost!

    • Knut…I thought I could slip “Das Phingger” by, but ya got me. Yeah Birther fever has spread to the Continent and is busily infecting everyone.

  2. Wicked post buddy! What a freaking joke that whole fiasco is along with all the other loons coming out of the woodwork to claim that his birth certificate is fraudulent.
    People say Canadian Politics are boring but I prefer them to stay that way rather than become a reality soap opera.

  3. Your sister Heidi said:

    Although Knut corrected you on the German finger, I have to correct you some more: It is not das Finger, which would be neutral, but rather der Finger, which is masculine. I wonder why!!!!!!!!

    BTW, I have of list of people and now know what I can send them. Thanks.

  4. Hansi,
    Ever since you returned to the house of pain, I sense a dark turn to your humor. Carefull.

  5. I am past the finger test Hansi, I am on permanent medication for the old prostate. Oh to be able to piss like an horse when we were young.

    Bill
    A-U-L, UK

  6. Eric Berner said:

    Sell or trade this peice? I would like to buy.

    • Wow…thanks for the offer, but this stuff isn’t really for sale, and even if it was i don’t know how a transaction could be made….Hans

Leave a comment