mind expanding nonsense

Reefer Madness

Right now, at the end of March, we here in the good ol’ US of A are in the Middle of “March Madness”. I’m not talking about the “Middle East Madness”, the “Muammar Gaddafi Madness” or all the other forms of insanity that we’re dealing with. I’m talking about the NCAA College basketball playoffs, which is called ‘March Madness’. I don’t know why they call it such, maybe because that’s all that is on TV. But then again this Libya Madness has captured a lot of our attention too.

Well, with all this “madness” going on, and I thrive on madness (but not the angry type), I got to thinkin’…..Hey…we’re leaving out “Reefer Madness”.

Reefer madness” was a 1936 morality tale, originally released as “Tell Your children” and financed by a church group. It was quickly bought, re-edited and cut, and released on the “exploitation circuit” as “Reefer Madness”.  Along side such favorites as “The Smut Peddler” and “Curfew Violators”, “Reefer Madness” was about how all these people’s lives turned to shit, after mistakenly accepting a reefer (joint) as a normal cigarette, smoking it, and then in a drug crazed spiral of depravity, go on to kill people with hit and run accidents, manslaughter, rape and mental illness. Sounds like they were smokin’ some good shit to me.

Anyway, this film quickly dove into obscurity, the Prohibition was over, so America resumed it’s love affair with alcohol. It wasn’t until the late 1960’s that the film made a resurgence. That’s because Reefer Madness struck every college campus in the States. And did we take it as a warning about the dangers of drug use? Hell No. It was a joke! And what better way to view this film? than to “get loaded”, totally “fried”, “stoned” and utterly “phucked up”. It was a howl.

Now I got to admit that I tried it, once or twice, back in those days. But watching that film on campus was a total trip, and everybody there was riding high. What did we do after viewing all that antiquated admonishment? Jump in cars and get into accidents, quit school for a life of debauchery, kill someone ? (well only if you were drafted, then you’d actually be taught how to kill people, but only South-east Asians).   Hell no…..After sixty minutes of our own reefer madness, we were running to the coffee shop, cause everybody had the munchies and were craving sweets. Oh the depravity of it all.  We usually went back to the dorm, where we fell asleep listening to Bob Dylan.

Reefer Madness. The ultimate in melodramatic, morality laden bullshit. That’s what we college kids thought. Cause if  “They” were lyin’ to ya about the Vietnam War, what else were “They” lyin’ about?? Well quite a lot actually, and unfortunately, that got a lot of us thinkin’.

Well. I’m not advocating drug use for any one. That would be against the law. And as a former Probation Officer, I had to enforce ‘all laws’. Even the ones I wasn’t particularly fond of.   So I don’t want people to break the law. Here in California we can have our cake (called edibles at the dispensary) and eat it too. Yep, the compassionate people of California, not wanting anyone to unduly suffer, were the first to vote in a medical marijuana law in 1996. No wonder everybody wants to live here.

So…..what’s my last word? If you’re suffering, it’s because you are not obeying All Laws.

Comments on: "Reefer Madness" (20)

  1. Actually March Madness probably causes as much loss of productivity in the workplace as other kinds of madness.

    • You’re probably right. i just spent an hour watching VCU upset Kansas State. Great game; bet Kansas was mad.

  2. Hansi,
    I’d never watched even the preview of Reefer Madness before. Once again I owe you. I never tried marijuana until after the draft turned me into a trained killer coding clerk defending the beaches of Hawaii. Unlike our former President, I inhaled too. MJ promised to loosen my well trained inhibitions. All it delivered was the munchies. Still I think that it is a temptation that I can do without.

  3. I love the posters for that movie as well:
    Youthful Marijuana Victims – What actually happens!

    Anyhow, to answer your question (thanks for reading, BTW):
    Here’s an awesome diagram: http://images.sodahead.com/profiles/0/0/2/2/2/4/7/3/3/69-position-37529503577.jpeg
    Let’s assume the girl is underneath; look where her head is in relation to where (and what direction) the guy’s erect penis would be – waaaayyyy in the other direction to her mouth. It’s much easier when the girl is on top 😉

    Cheers!

  4. geezerpussrex said:

    Louis Daniel Armstrong and his pals used to call it “viper.” They sounded great to me but that smoke might account for Satchmo’s raspy voice. Toar uses it on a regular basis to tame the savage beast. Good thing he does or he’d be doing life with his temper. I gave it up long ago for Lent or summer solstice or asthma. I can’t remember does details. What was I saying??

    You haven’t seen “Reefer Madness” until you view the colorized version; each cloud of smoke is a different pastel color.

  5. I knew I should have trademarked Madness. 🙂 And speaking of Madness, I fear it’s Political Madness 24/7 — it just never stops, does it?

    • Mad…You got that right. Political Madness (an insidious form of mental illness) is just getting warmed up, what with the 2012 election a mere year and a half away 🙂

  6. Your sister Heidi said:

    Never saw “Reefer Madness”. If I am really missing something, how can I see this?
    Back then when friends and I got the “munchies” we would bake Alice B. Toklas Brownies and kill two birds with one stone (pardon the pun)!

    • Heidi…..If ya really want to endure the full 68 minutes of reefer Madness (the movie that is). You can see it on U tube. I’d have some brownies ready to appreciate it more fully 🙂

  7. Empirical evidence might suggest that this “madness” actually manifests itself as little more than the notion to walk over to Happy Donut and purchase, then proceed to eat, a half dozen donuts.

    If, of course, there were empirical evidence to be examined.

  8. I have watched this classic gem but dont remember much 😉 always a big debate in the UK if anyone dares mention the terrible effects of tobbaco and alcohol compared to many ilegal drugs they shot down. Sad as we need to face drugs they aint going away.

    • Things are a little more liberal here in California, but that’s California for ya; the home of the crazies. thanks for stopping by O Great Bald One 🙂

  9. wow, a moments pleasure at a terrible price .. my life really – thanks hansi, you evil ex teenager you.

    • Ah yes….those moments of pleasure have a tendency to come around and bite one in the ass. I’m still a teenager, but stuck in a geezer’s body.

  10. whoah this blog is wonderful i like studying your posts.
    Stay up the good work! You already know, lots of people are searching round for this information,
    you can help them greatly.

Leave a comment