mind expanding nonsense

Listening To Music

listening 007

I listen to music every night.  Kick back, put on the head-phones (or blast it on the stereo if The Wife isn’t home), and focus on an album or CD, really listening to it.  Paying attention, not just daydreaming, although that happens a lot.  If I wasn’t subject to a rich fantasy life, there would be no Hansi’s Hallucinations blog.

I got the rock and roll bug back in 1958 when I was elven or twelve years old.   Started listening to AM radio and buying records.  If it rocked, I loved it.  Chuck Berry was the King of Rock and Roll; early Elvis was good too.  My father called it “jungle music”.  I’ve had the bug ever since.  Can’t get enough of it.  It either grabs ya or it don’t.

Listening to music is like stepping into another world.  I call it the world of music.  I do all my drawing while listening to music.  It’s kinda like a sound track.  Here’s a photo of my stereo getting a full-blast workout.

1-28-15 001

Comments on: "Listening To Music" (12)

  1. music soothes the savage breast….oh wait that should beast…

  2. We share the music listening when making art. It’s a motivator.

  3. I’m with you on this one! I bought Janis Joplin’s 1970 “Pearl” and a 1967 Vinyl Moody Blues “Days of Future Passed” just today! I have the CDs but wanted the vinyl. I’m sure you understand! 🙂 Your nightly habit sounds sublime!

    • Two great albums. Vinyl has a warmer sound than CD’s. Plus, it’s just fun to put an album on the turntable and let it spin.

  4. Yes. I have a quote with no attribution: “The purpose of music is to release us from the tyranny of conscious thought.”

    But you make an interesting point about your father not getting it. It was the same with me. As far as he was concerned there was no discernible difference between the Mamas and the Papas and Frank Zappa. I didn’t even try to explain.

    What bothers me is that I feel the same way about today’s musical offerings. I know that when I was hanging around in the mall when I was 14 they weren’t playing Beatles and Doors songs, even in Muzak renderings. But now you can’t go anywhere without being bombarded. We were in a restaurant and they were playing stuff. I said to my wife. “They’re playing the same song over and over again.” It could have been the latest ouvre from Beyoncé or Taylor Swift but it sounded like a cat caught in a machine that kept going thump, thump, thump. Is there a way an old geezer can learn how to tell the difference between Taylor Swift and a dentist’s drill or should I just give up.

    One thing I’m sure of, is that these modern songs aren’t written by a bunch of musicians sitting around creating. I think they figure out the most successful advertising jingles and computerize them into a 4 minute pattern and add some lyrics about how love sucks and call it a hit.

    Or am I wrong?

    • You’re right. I don’t know who’s who or what’s what when it comes to today’s Pop and especially Rap music; it all sucks. A lot of my music/collector buddies feel the same way: it all sounds the same, and more and more like jungle music. I guess I’m turnin’ into my old man.

  5. My Dad used to say, “What’s this rubbish. This isn’t music”. And now I say, “What’s this rubbish. This isn’t music”. Oh God, I sound like my Dad. NNNNOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

