mind expanding nonsense

Listening To Black Sabbath

January 9 2014 011

Right now, I’m listening to Black Sabbath, their first album “Black Sabbath”. Catchy name for a group and their first album. I got a copy on vinyl from my son for Xmas. index I’m not a big Black Sabbath fan, although I did by their second album “Paranoid” when it came out in the early 70’s.  That was very trippy stuff.  But the problem was, if you’d been doing a little herb, songs about  War Pigs, Electric Funerals and Hands of Doom, well they had a profound effect on ya, and you tend to get overly paranoid [What else was I expecting when you buy a record titled “Paranoid”.]

What I do like is the ‘heavy blues’ sound of groups like Cream, Jethro Tull, and of course, Led Zeppelin.  And, the San Fransisco Psychedelic sounds of Jefferson Airplane, Big Brother and the Holding Company, Quicksilver Messenger Service, and Country Joe and the Fish.  Being an L A boy, Los Angeles groups like the Doors and Buffalo Springfield where favorites too.

Enough of Ozzie and his madness.  I just put on Hendrix’, “Band Of Gypsies”.  Talk about a power trio.  A beautiful live album capturing Jimi at his best.  My vinyl version lets ya feel what it must of been like to have been there. [My versions featured great light-shows].

Machine Gun is about to start….see ya later.

index

Comments on: "Listening To Black Sabbath" (6)

  1. In 1967 I saw Jimi in Boston……..I would kll to be that good with a guitar…..good choice….

  2. you just reminded me…its time to update the pandora playlist…:)

  3. I like your taste in music! But why no mention of the Dead Kennedys?

  4. coooollllll. Love Black Sabbath. Their music really captures working class Britain at the beginning of the 1970s.

  5. That’s awesome that your son got you Sabbath; it’s a cool thing when parents and children have a shared interest in metal, and in punk rock, which I gladly let my children hear.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

