mind expanding nonsense

Playfulness

2-4-14 003

If I were given the choice: Would I like to work, or, would I like to play.  I’d choose play just about every time.  I like to play.  Have since I was a kid.  Then, playing meant doing whatever came to mind with the toys or materials available.  When ya stop by here, it’s kinda like going out to play.  I’ll share my toys, if you share yours.

The one kind of play I don’t like, is when people play with your mind.  Maybe I’m a little guilty of that sometimes.  But it’s not an invasive procedure that could leave ya scared for life, only some candy to tweek your mind a bit.  The Super Bowl with all its commercials sure was some heavy-duty mind play.  Millions spent to convince, cajole and talk folks into buying something they seem to think you just can’t live without.  As mind blowingly groovy as some of them were (Bob Dylan pushing Chrysler? – seems like he went back to work on Maggie’s Farm), I didn’t jump outta my seat and yell, “I gotta get some of that!”.  Maybe I was so spaced-out, I missed some messages entirely, waiting for another ‘wardrobe malfunction’.

Nice try Super Bowl, but no thanks.  I got all the toys I need.  And if I don’t, I’ll run out to the thrift store and get some more.  I did however recently purchase three vinyl record albums at the local record shop.  They were having a 50% off sale on all their dollar albums.  I’m not a math wiz, but that’s almost fifty cents a record.  I bought three.  Some 80’s stuff in good condition  And speaking of playfulness, I’m playing them right now.

Comments on: "Playfulness" (8)

  1. “Nice try Super Bowl, but no thanks. I got all the toys I need.”

    The advantages of age is that we’re not as easily persuaded by such BS as we once were.

  2. I was struck by the fact that most of the ads were for cars. Do people who buy Mazerati and Jaguar really get persuaded by a superbowl ad? Are they watching the superbowl? On TV? seemed strange to me.

  3. The only thing we heard about the Superbowl down here was that commercial time cost 4 million for 30 seconds or something like that. This was the first I’d heard about Bob Dylan and Chrysler. So I checked it out on YouTube. Gag.

    Then I found this article about Chrysler: http://www.manufacturing.net/blogs/2014/02/on-chrysler%E2%80%99s-dismissals-shaky-us-credibility

    They’re playing with our minds.

  4. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    I didn’t watch the Stupid Bowl and so I avoided the relentless advertising. It really isn’t about a football match anymore, is it? I mean, there’s a half-hour of actual play and many hours of crap.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

