mind expanding nonsense

Cyclical Slump

10-1-13 013

Usually, about every three months or so, my creative juices dry up, and I find myself in a slump.  This has been happening on such a regular basis, that I’m staring to think that it’s cyclical in nature.  And can be seen coming and viewed as nothing new when it finally hits.

Usually when this happens [I really shouldn’t start two paragraphs in a row with the same word, but by the time you finish reading this, you fill have forgotten about that], and predictably so, I stop drawing, or draw crap, and try to camouflage it with some brilliant bullshit.  “If ya can’t dazzle them with brilliance, baffle ’em with bullshit.”

Well I’ll be dipped in shit, if the opposite didn’t happen this time around.  Drawing is going along nicely (the same old stuff), but the quirky, adolescent in nature, good-hearted fun-filled grab-ass bullshit has dried up totally. Usually (that’s #3) there no end to my B S.  In fact people have often told me, “Hansi, you’re full of shit”.

I really don’t wanna write about myself and what I’m going through. And, I don’t want this to be a “Geezer” blog, where I go on rants about how everything is turning to shit, and how current economics, politics, social trends and what the entertainment industry deems ‘entertaining’, is driving me absolutely insane to the point that all I want to do is turn on, tune in, and drop out.

But maybe my sufferings can be a blessing unto others, who take heart, see the light, and who can thankfully say, “I’m sure glad I’m not as fucked-up as he is” 🙂

sketches 002

Comments on: "Cyclical Slump" (10)

  1. Back when I was writing for a paycheck, I would get into funks when nothing would come to me, and if it did, I would end up being my own worst critics. Finally I would just file the unfinished manuscript and start another. I have had up to four manuscripts going at the same time. But, finally, I would pull one out I hadn’t looked at in a month, and something would click, and it was finished and sent off to my publisher. But it certainly didn’t make any of those times less frustrating.

  2. Ah ha! It seems you’ve discovered the Opposite Game.

  3. well, it’s okay to share with friends, but heck, just rant…we are all entitled to rant.

  4. turn on, tune in, and drop out.

    Timothy Leary forever ! His birth date was last week Oct 22.

  5. Slumps happen, but hey … a benefit of geezerhood is you don’t know what you’ll be thinking minutes ahead.

  6. the reverse side also has a reverse side – bottoms up Hansi…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

