mind expanding nonsense

Phone Calls

Mixed 008

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been getting a shit-load, and I’m talkin’ cargo container size (size does matter, or at least that’s what the bulk of my emails assure me) of  telephone solicitations lately.  Now a days, the majority of the calls we get, is someone wanting to sell us something.  And they always call at dinner time.

Mixed 007

Hell’s Bells.  I don’t wanna buy anything.  In fact, I wanna save money, or at least conserve it.  That’s why I thought I’d save a dollar a month on my phone bill, by no longer having an unlisted number.  Boy did I fuck-up with that one.  I had to have an unlisted number for thirty years when I was fighting crime at the Probation Department…  Didn’t want my name and number and address listed, in case  one of my probation clients decided that he was the one who was gonna make a home call this time.  So this is the first time Hansi, or as my clients called me, “Mr Hansi” (dumb shits) is in the phone book.

Well, sure as shit, I’m getting barraged with a ton of callers who sound like  former clients gone straight, and have now pursued a career in Tele-marketing.  Sure seems like Karma is coming around and biting me in the ass..

Mixed 004

Comments on: "Phone Calls" (19)

  1. You’re too funny. At least you know they were rehabilitated to being productive citizens. I mean, somebody’s gotta do the selling. 🙂

  2. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    Ever since my mom moved in with me, I’ve been getting calls like those and an annoying barrage of mail order catalogs. Of course, my mom rarely hears the phone ring, so I’m able to rudely dismiss them and quickly.

    • Seems like this telemarketing blitz is not just a local phenomena, but nation-wide. I think rudely dismissing them is actually an act of mercy. The poor turds doing the job probably work on commission, so why waste their time being polite when ya have no intention whatsoever of buying anything.

      ________________________________

  3. I am getting a butt load of robo calls…..cannot yell and cuss….no one on the other end…it sucks!

  4. Don’t forget to register your number on National Do Not Call …. and use call blocking feature if you have it.

  5. see, what you do is talk to ’em like you are really really interested, and then when they get to the punch line, offer to sell them something yourself…say, weird you called me a telemarketer, so would you be interested in my Pee of a tree gizmo? It won’t stop them, but it sure will make your evening.

    • Love it! I often times screw with their minds, or just talk gibberish back to them, acting like a total retard. Great fun.

      ________________________________

  6. You need to register your number on the National DoNotCall List that will tell telemarketers you don’t want to be bothered. If they do call once your registration goes into effect you can report them. I and my wife have registered both of our cell phones (we got rid of our land line) and I have only had one call, who I told I was going to report them if they called me again. So far, so good.

  7. You gotta give that Do Not Call register a little time to work. In the meantime, when you get a telemarketing call don’t hang up on it or give the telemarketer a lot of guff. Just politely tell them to put you on THEIR do not call list. They get it right away, usually say thank you, and are gone immediately. The fact that you have actually requested not to have future calls obligates them to respect your wishes. If you hang up on the call they will continue until they manage to get you to answer. Unfortunately you will still get calls from political or charitable organizations or any other entity you have had a business relationship with and provided with your phone number. These aren’t covered under the Do Not Call protocol.

    • That makes a lot of sense, but no cents for them. I’ll try that next time when I’m not feeling mischievous.

      ________________________________

  8. I think telemarketers are a violation of fundamental human rights to privacy and quiet.

    • Amen to that. But as you my recall, here in the States, capitalism always takes precedent over privacy, or someone’s rights 🙂

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

