mind expanding nonsense

Something New

New a 001

Talk about misleading tittles just to grab your attention.  But technically this is something new, although in reality it’s the same old stuff, just re-packaged into a new format: A new sketch book.  But then again reality generally sucks, so any way to alter it or give the illusion of an alternative is good…at least for me.

To the Artist, or drawer of drawings like myself, a new sketchbook or blank canvas is a time to reflect on what has gone before, and what may happen in the future, or how things may unfold.  Pretty trippy.  I’m usually hesitant to dive into a new sketchbook, after all, I’ve just laid my previous one to rest, and here I am hooking-up with a new one looking to start the process all over again.

New a 002

Here’s a little secret.  This blog is nothing more that a chronicle of my sketchbooks, which I’ve been posting in chronological order.  Talk about being chronic!  So it’s more like a journal of what I’ve been doing drawing-wise.

I really don’t like sketchbooks, and prefer loose paper instead.  But people keep giving me new sketchbooks for Christmas and birthdays, so I’m stuck with em, and being basically a cheap-skate, hate to see em go to waste.

Comments on: "Something New" (27)

  1. “But then again reality generally sucks, so any way to alter it or give the illusion of an alternative is good…at least for me.”

    From this point of you you might appreciate this 😉

  2. I get a little sweaty palm reaction to facing a blank piece of watercolor paper, or a canvas. I just started a new sketchbook too. And I haven’t worked in a sketchbook in over six years!

  3. Sherry said:

    Hansi, do you keep them all on a shelf and bring them out for guests to admire just like people do their albums? Just want to be aware of that in case I’m ever there. Need to be ready for the ooh’s and ahh’s and “isn’t he cute!” lol..

  4. You must have a gazillion sketch books. You seem to go through them rather quickly. I imagine you have a small library of them now. I’ve never been that good on filling mine up.

    • Well, not quite a gazillion, but close. I find that for the type of drawing I’m doing, they are handy, convenient, and avoid clutter.

      ________________________________

  5. “tittles”??? Is that a combination of titles that are titillating tits? Hope you actually wrote that on purpose…

    • Nope…it was a brain fart, a senior moment, and too much reliance on spell-check. But subconsciously there must have been something slipping out.

      ________________________________

  6. One good use for a sketch book would be to make a little page flip movie in one of the corners!

    • Good idea, and what a flash-back. I used to do that as a kid; ruined a lot of good books that way.

      ________________________________

  7. Love the green guy!

  8. Your sketchbooks rock!

  9. Sketchbooks are chronic narrative. Have fun with the new book!

  10. You could will them all to the Library of Congress – they probably need some titters in their stacks…

  11. “I’ve just laid my previous one to rest, and here I am hooking-up with a new one looking to start the process all over again” … getting promiscuous with your sketchbooks again, hey?

  12. I love starting a new sketchbook, not so much finishing them. I not very organised, always seem to starting a new one and forgeting the one I’m half way through.

    • I know what ya mean. Sketchbooks are kinda like relationships…they get stale after a while.

      ________________________________

  13. In that second drawing, Grace Jones must be have the inspiration.

  14. Paul J. Stam said:

    Tell you what, since you like loose paper rather than the sketchbook, tell your friends to rip al the pages out before they give them to you – Hey, glad you liked “What Makes an Artist? – Revised.” And keep the sketches coming – love them. Aloha – pjs.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

