mind expanding nonsense

Hell Hounds

April Art 008

Here’s a little secret.  When I sit down to draw, I usually don’t  have anything specific in mind.  It all just sorta happens.  Sometimes (but rarely) I have a flash of brilliance and a concept will pop into my mind.  Hell Hounds was one of them.  I was so taken with the phrase, that I just had to incorporate it into the drawing  above.  Sometimes I’m amazed, and delude myself into thinking I’ve done something profound.  Delusion is sure a great alternative to reality.

Getting back to Hell Hounds, the Devil sure owns a lot of property here in the United States; his name is on stuff everywhere.  There’s the Devil’s Post Piles in the California Sierras; a Devils Tower (the one in Close Encounters Of A Third Kind), the Devil’s Cauldrons, Devil’s Canyons, Baths and Gardens ad nausea, the fallen Arc Angel’s name is on anything totally worthless, barren and thrashed, god-forsaken or volcanic in nature.  That’s sure a lot of real estate.  I wonder if he owns it , or is just leasing it on a multi-millenial basis until Jesus returns?

Late March 008b

So…if the Devil had a dog.  It’d be a Hell Hound. Or maybe a Devil Dog?  I’ve run across a few of those in my travels.

Comments on: "Hell Hounds" (13)

  1. Very cute. They look like “long dog” horns. 🙂

  2. I suffer from brain worms….they must feed daily….LOL

  3. they look like such pleasant and tame little pooches to me Hansi. Nothing hellish going on. 🙂

  4. ” Delusion is sure a great alternative to reality.”

    There’s a lot of that going around these days. 🙂

  5. Devil’s got the best music

  6. Pretty clever to recall how many times the Devil’s name is invoked in the U.S.! I certainly had never really thought about it that way. 🙂 I like your Hell Hounds!. Some of the best inspiration comes when we aren’t really looking for it. And then the devil’s in the details!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

