mind expanding nonsense

Bass Ackwards

Feb 2013 005

You’ve probably heard the expression “Ass Backwards”.  Well, if ya don’t want to sound vulgar or come across as being crass, you can switch the beginning letters and come up with Bass Ackwards.  Pretty clever.  It means doing something, usually in the reverse order of how it’s normally done, and suffering with a shoddy outcome as a result.  So doing something bass ackwards, is generally to be avoided…except when it comes to me and blogging.

See, I prefer to start by drawing  an ass, or somehow featuring one prominently in my drawing,  and then working forward with delightful verbiage, which may or may not have any relationship to the drawing whatsoever.  The results vary.   Some times they’re good; some times a little Uucked Fup.

Feb 2013 008

Comments on: "Bass Ackwards" (17)

  1. I love the term “bass ackwards,” particularly when people are very concerned with their language, say they would never use a vulgarity of any variety, and then throw this in as though it is the moral high road. I am very intrigued with your drawings. Body parts are distorted, yet somehow proportional and realistic. I would normally think “distorted and realistic” couldn’t co-exist. As in this post, I like to hear a little bit about how create such an interesting focus.

    • I guess a distorted reality just comes naturally to me, or, I prefer distortion to reality. Thanks for your comments on my drawing. Keeping things somewhat anatomically correct is a biggy for me, maybe that’s why the distortion works…unless of course I get it Bass Ackwards. 🙂

      ________________________________

  2. I have this sneaking feeling you’d LOVE Brazil.

  3. you think you distort reality? Whew, I’m glad to hear that. I was afraid you didn’t know!

  4. I like it! Except you can’t do that trick with “face forward.” Not that you’d want to.

  5. I always wondered about your process. Now, it’s clear.

  6. I drop by to say hello and I’m greeted with an ass in my face.

  7. Bummed out by your backward looking drawings I am not – my late comment simply means I am getting a little behind in my comments…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

