mind expanding nonsense

Where’d My Muse Go?

muse 001

Drawing for me goes in cycles, or bursts of creative activity (sometimes lasting weeks), after which I’m totally spent and empty.  The only thing I wanna do after all that action is lay back and have a cigarette.  Well, my drawing climaxed a few weeks ago, and I haven’t been doing much since.  It was all I could do to take colored pencils to this recent ink drawing.  I think my drawing muse done up and went.

fantasy

In Greek mythology, the Muses were nine goddesses, daughters of Zeus, who personified the arts, literature, dance and music, and who often inspired some of us mere mortals to excel in these areas.  Thing is, there was no specific Muse for drawing.  So, I’m without a Muse.  Thalia is okay for comedy, and Erato good for love poetry (do dirty limericks count?), but no Drawalinggus. So it’s no wonder I’m in a slump, I have no hot, scantily clad goddess to inspire me.

If I did have a Muse, I think I’d call mine something like Charlena, Betty-Lou or Veronica (sounds like a bunch of ex-wives),  Goddesses of sleaze and bad taste.  Got to be gaudy, with “big hair” and lots of cheap jewelry, kinda like fishing lures hanging from their ears.  Clothing is always optional, with big bazooms a must.

I thought I’d post a few worthy candidates that I wouldn’t mind being inspired by.

rocket girl 2

*

Charlena

Comments on: "Where’d My Muse Go?" (19)

  1. It’s Mardi Gras give her time to sober up……LOL

  2. Great your creative bursts can last for weeks. Mine are usually days or sometimes a few hours. But a day for me is pretty much all day and is really productive, actually.

    • Funny how that works. All day is way too much for me, but if it’s workin’ for you…great! Congratulations on the book.

      ________________________________

  3. WordsFallFromMyEyes said:

    Love this. Oh, to have a muse to daydream beyond…

    I could work writing a morning and an afternoon with a gap of physical activity in between, but not just “all day”. I like to hear of others’ practices though.

  4. Drawalinggus… My good man, I think you’re onto something here!

  5. There is definitely a type of man who likes his women a lot on the trashy side. There is a C/W song about that. Lots of makeup, big hair, clothes all but ready to pop off. In fact, I knew a lawyer like that. She would come to court with makeup put on with a trowel, and eithe gold or silver lame dresses and shoes. Too much jewelry. People used to stare, and of course laugh behind her back. No doubt her hubby found her exquisite.

  6. That’s the funniest thing I’ve ever heard, I was wondering and wouldn’t that be amazing?

  7. Oops, I was trying to be clever and inserted “(comment deleted by moderator)” after wondering, but I used pointy parentheses and it’s not showing up. The comment should read:

    That’s the funniest thing I’ve ever heard. I was wondering (comment deleted by moderator)and wouldn’t that be amazing?

  8. Very a(muse)ing, Hansi! : )

  9. Husb is my muse – he’s a hunk 🙂

  10. I would especially like to re-court the Muse of poetry, who ran off with the mailman four years ago, and drops me only a scribbled postcard from time to time. (John Updike)

  11. Dig that Greek cowgirl Mary Lou muse.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

