mind expanding nonsense

Checking Out

I was thinking of checking out of  the blogosphere for a while.  A lot of people do it, and I’ve been thinking about it too.  I even dreamed up an  “I’m checking out for a while”  drawing for my last post.   Cool.  But this ain’t it.

I guess that’s cause a lot of  shit stuff is happening in my life right now, and I don’t have the time to get into the right frame of mind to crank out my usual mindless rants, let alone illustrate them with some pseudo-psychedelic crude crayola drawings.

When one is not in a good mind-state, things can seem overwhelming  at times and produce a rottener even more rotten mind-state.  That sucks, cause ya get locked into negative mind-states, and don’t even realize you’re feeling rotten.  But, the thing is, it’s really only a ‘mind-state,’ which can be changed.  Turning a negative into a positive sounds like a lot of horseshit sometimes.  [Usually the other way around is much more common and by far easier].  But with a positive attitude, I find I can see the horseshit ahead, accept the big plopper for what it is, and decide, “Hey…I’m not gonna step in that”.  “No sir!  That would be disgusting, with all that slimy goo soaking into your socks;  plus, you could get your ass killed by Mom for tracking it into the house and getting it all over the carpet.”

Well, I went fishing a few days ago in the Psychedelic Sierras, and ‘checked out’ for a while.  And like getting the hell out of a sleazy motel where ya didn’t sleep well the whole night, I was sure glad I checked out of the mind-state I was in.

Everything seems to work out Okay in the end. [Now that really sounds like a lot of B S, especially when everything is turning to shit around ya and stressing you out].  But I’ve found it seems to be true, especially when I don’t resist what’s going on and am open to change, which is constant anyway.  Pretty trippy don’t cha think?

Well, it’s time for me to check back in.   Sure hope they changed the sheets.

Comments on: "Checking Out" (32)

  1. burn them don’t change them .. think of their history and the tales they can tell 😉

  2. A good 15% of the bloggers I follow have expressed “I need a break from this” burnout. Keeping up with 200 emails in that inbox from the network I have built keeps in this chair too much of the day.

    • Blogging is certainly hard work. But really, it can consume a lot of ones times.

      ________________________________

  3. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    I’ve definitely slowed down this summer. I just can’t fit everything in – can’t even keep up with reading blogs much less writing mine. But, I’m not going away. A break is good and needs no justification at all. Hope your stress level ratchets down soon! This too will pass.

    • Thanks, yeah my stress level is coming down. So much of it is self induced.

      ________________________________

  4. I can see how fishing would take you into a more relaxed mindset. Hope things continue to look up.

    • They will/they are. getting away refreshes my mind (with a little help from my friends) and allows me to have a more open mind.

      ________________________________

  5. Sometimes I feel like I forget that blogging is entirely optional…I really enjoy it, but I do have to slow down once in a while or I’m like Lucy and Ethel in the candy factory…there is no such thing as staying caught up. I’m a big proponent of working to eliminate stress and taking responsibility for managing it, and as much as I “preach it” I’ve lately been on red alert. I think there are seasons like that. I do hope your “season” is very short! Debra

    • Thanks…It is/was short. With awareness, I’m able to see the state I’m in and deal with it. It’s just when one is wrapped up in the delusion, that things seem out of control; which they basically are anyway.

      ________________________________

  6. Hi Hansi, checking back in. Glad to find you’re not checking out. Peaks and troughs, tide in, tide out … as a fisherman you get it.

  7. That must be the shortest break on record – welcome back… I can relate to your blogging burn-out feeling – sometimes all you need is a fishin’ trip – other times one has to take that actual break for awhile. It’s looming for me, but it’s okay because people understand and don’t easily abandon…

    • Actually it was longer than you’d think. mainly because when I’m on a roll, I do a lot of Drafts and save them for latter use. Taking a break if an option, especially if one is doing creative artwork. Need to recharge the ol’ batteries.

      ________________________________

  8. I know what you mean about self-inflicted pressure. Glad to see you back!

  9. I know the feeling. Blogging needs to be fun, not an obligation … and breaks of whatever length are good!

  10. You gotta take those sabbaticals every now and then. Glad you’re refreshed and back with us … for a while at least. 🙂

  11. STUFF !!! there are NO rules! come and go and you please! I certainly have hit a few bumps…. and well, so what! Looking forward to whateve you write/draw… whenever it shows up!

  12. It is true, blogging is hard work…but it is worth it….bloggers are about the only true reporters left….we are not in it for ratings or cash rewards…..we search for the truth, at least the truth as we perceive it….

  13. I’m totally with you. I set myself up for a fall with a Celebrity Elf each day in July. What was I thinking?! I gave myself an immpossible challenge and it stopped being fun. So I’ve started missing days out, and nobody has noticed nor cared. Please don’t check out completely though. I’d miss you.

    • That’s sweet. I know what ya mean about setting one’s self up for a fall, by biting off too much. You were really cranking out some nice elf’s; especially Elvis elf 🙂

      ________________________________

  14. Hansi, we enjoy your stuff so much and also your anecdotal thoughts, that I’m tempted to urge you to continue your blog and not take a hiatus. However, as much as I love writing and cannot do without it, life has a way of interfering and making a post just one more thing on my “to-do” list that I can well do without. I’ve grown comfortable with just not posting when I don’t have the time or the desire. Some days I’m too tired and all I want to do is vegetate with a mindless online game. But I would not decide to take an arbitrary period of time off. It almost never works anyway. Just write when it suits you, and don’t worry when it doesn’t. Stay in touch with a comment so we know you are around, and return to it full bore when it suits you. That’s my advice. I thought I was back full time, and then again found myself running all over the town for the last two days. So, I’m just not gonna obsess about it any more. Take care, and take some time to smell the roses.

    • Snoring Dog Studio said:

      Great advice, Sherry! I can understand your need to take a break for sure!

      • You know what I talking about. Sure hope you find time to get back to the watercolors 🙂

        ________________________________

    • Sherry, thank you for the very thoughtful advice. I’ll take it to heart. The thing is, like you and the Contrarian, The Wife and I are planning a massive (though not as great as your recent move out of state) change in our lives by remodeling our ancient kitchen. Sounds petty, but there’s a shit-load of decisions that have to be made and agreed upon, things moved and new stuff bought. No problemo is money is no object. It’s just that these things, as you know, consume ones life and leave little time for the fun stuff like blogging. I think we’re Okay with it all now and are making progess. I can’t help but think of the time you and your husband spent in a motel waiting to move in to your new home. We’ll be without a kitchen for a month, but hey, it’ll be like camping in your own backyard. All will be fine, I may just be posting less frequently. Thank God I have plenty of medication 🙂

      ________________________________

  15. Oh, I get it. Take some time, keep a sketchbook;) and chill. But, please come back when you feel ready. Your public looks forward to your posts. Best.

  16. Nice to see you back – miss your sketches 🙂

    • Yeah….I’ll be around for a while. creativity comes in spurts for me, so there’s gonna be dry spells in there. Just gotta accept it.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

