mind expanding nonsense

Cartoons

I love cartoons, the hand drawn type, and have a lot of awe and respect for those who can do cartoons well.  I’m even following a lot of people who are posting their cartoons.   You know who you are, and I can dig it!

I don’t consider myself a cartoonist as such, although most of my work is very “Cartoonie” in nature.  Maybe because  Mad magazine had a big impact on me as a youth in the late 50’s.  Mad illustrators:  Wallace Wood, Bill Elder, Jack Davis and more where my artistic idols, and blew my young mind with their illustrations.

I also like ‘comic-book’ art.  The highly stylized action comics and illustrated novel types.  Wish I could draw that way, but it’s not me.

The other art-form that blew me away, was the psychedelic art of the 60’s, such as a lot of the work on concert posters.  Trippy stuff.  An art nouveau redux if you will (also way cool art-wise, as are Pre-Raphaelites).  So why the Afro-centric feel to the last two.  Maybe it’s the Treyvon Martin shooting, I d0n’t know.  Pretty psychedelic don’t cha think 🙂

Comments on: "Cartoons" (20)

  1. Great drawings, hansi. The bottom one is something special.

  2. For me trying to make up a joke or and absurdity of some kind is 90% of the cartoon production effort. The art is secondary and primitive but enough to unite concept and image. But for the things you describe the art is primary. And it really is art.

    • That’s the difficult part about cartooning. You do it well, and all your stuff works together as a whole.

      ________________________________

  3. I like comic book art too but most of it looks the same. Your work would add a different flavor to the genre. But I could also picture your work in literary magazines, as well as Psychology Today.

    • I hear ya about comic book stuff looking the same, it’s almost a genre. Me is Psychology Today? Maybe as a case study:)

      ________________________________

  4. Nice work. Cartoons are a bit hit and miss with me. Nice to hear about your influences too. I’ll need to googles couple of those names. Great drawings as usual 🙂

  5. Yes, I see the tits. where are the testicles? huh? I ask ya?

  6. the australian politics show i watch every sunday am (it’s on now) has a round up of the weeks cartoons… a highlight of the week for sure. hansi – huge thanks again for the cartoon like version of me 😉

  7. I love the category of “general insanity.” You have an incredible talent. That last one, Treyvon Martin or otherwise inspired, is brilliant. I have NO idea how to interpret it, but I couldn’t stop looking at it! Debra

    • Most things fall into that category now a days. Thanks for stopping by.

      ________________________________

  8. Love it all Hans. I too once had ambitions to draw. Somehow I never quite got the drive to invest heavily into it.

    Peter Max was a favorite of mine during the 60’s and 70’s psychedelic age.

    • You should give it a try. The only investment is the cost of a pencil (which you could just as easily steal from work), and some paper.

      ________________________________

  9. I especially enjoy political cartoonists. Can’t even draw stick figures myself. Sigh…. Nice post!

  10. “General insanity” … yep … that’s Hansi …. and the reason I like it. 🙂

  11. I had some great psychedelic art posters from the 60’s that were lost to Katrina…..cannot replace that stuff….

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

