mind expanding nonsense

Routines

You know, sometimes ya get locked into a routine, and without really knowin’ it, find yourself living by the clock.  Dinner @ 5:30, watch the news @ 6:00, and then wait till 8:00 p.m. when all the good shows come on the TV.  Can’t wait for the next glamorous season of Dancing With the Stars.

I like routines, cause a good solid routine makes things predictable.  Not like End Of  The World predictable, or shit like that.  But just having a good idea about what’s gonna happen next. [I guess if I prayed more often on a regular basis, I’d have a pretty good idea of exactly when this year The End will occur].

Now, I’m not very good about making predictions, (actually I am good at making predictions, just not very accurate on what I predict, especially if it’s about something that may happen in the future; I got the past nailed down).  But it sure is nice to have a “heads-up” when something  bad may be coming your way, like the Housing Collapse or Wall Street crisis.  Stuff that can really have an impact on your life, like whats for dinner.

So if there’s a point to this post, it’s that I did these drawings 0ne night when I wanted to break out of my evening routine.  There may be a theme in there somewhere.  The first one, done in ink, was inspired by Madonna’s Super Bowl Half-time entrance: the Cleopatra being pulled on a sled by a bunch of buffed-out slaves (well paid extras in this case) thing.

Maybe the theme is: My Own Little World, where I’m content to be an Elf.  Tuned out, earphones on and rockin’; doing some pencil drawings.  The only thing scary in “my little world” is, should I use pencil or Ink?  Each is a technique unto itself.  Hey…I’ll do both!  That way I can mess around stylistically.

Anyway, breaking a routine once in a while can be fun.  Don’t want to do it too often though, cause then ya might forget what’s supposed to happen next.   Hmmm, wonder what’s for desert?

This has been so much fun spending an evening drawing,  having all my own ‘media’ in my own head, that I think I’ll do it again.  Perhaps on a regular basis.  Got the 6:30 to 8:00 p.m. slot open 🙂

Comments on: "Routines" (12)

  1. Congrats, unless I’m missing something, you finally did a post that was not overtly sexual in pichers. 🙂
    And, I’m all for routines and such. Otherwise I can’t know when the done stuff is done, so I can know when I can enjoy my day. I’m a shouldy kinda person. Clocks regulate my fun.

    • You’re not missing anything, I am. I blame it all on low T. Seems like I ran out of testosterone the day I got my Medicare card in the mail.

      ________________________________

  2. Hansi, I suppose we all have our routines one way or another, to break it now and then is a good thing.
    As for the big T, that’s one thing I don’t like about ageing – the sex drive seems to diminish the older I get and I never thought that would happen.

    • I know what ya mean. But with diminished sex drive, I find myself able to make better decisions 🙂

      ________________________________

  3. I need to establish a routine of some sort. The weekends are challenging because those are days I feel like doing nothing. I thing about drawing and painting a lot more than I actually do it. You’re good.

    • I find that ‘down days’ when you’re into the arts are a consolidation period, and not just a ‘do nothing’ time. Kinda like ideas fermenting in your mind to juice ya up for creative bursts.

      ________________________________

  4. 1) LOL … the exchange between you and Sherry!

    2) You hit the target regarding routines – after all, we all have them.

    3) I didn’t realize you enjoy Dancing with the Star! (Bring back Edyta!!!)

    4) Before the 1972 NFL season, I predicted not only would the Miami Dolphins win the Super Bowl, but they would do it by going undefeated … and my friend laughed!

    • Yeah, the Wife and I are big Stars fans. It’s about the only reality-type show I enjoy.

      ________________________________

  5. Ah, those comfortable routines. We get into them at our house. After a while you forget you are alive. Need more travel.

  6. one of my routines is to explore your posts on the weekend .. it’s the weekend 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

