mind expanding nonsense

Love It or Leave It

You gotta love America, and next to Germany it’s the strangest place on Earth, so I’m not gonna leave it (unless I take another trip to Germany). That was a popular phrase during the 60’s, when everything went to hell as the Vietnam war got underway. Good thing we learned our lesson about getting involved in un-winnable wars in remote countries.

We are getting close to celebrating Martin Luther King’s Birthday. America’s great Civil Rights Hero. We loved him so much he was assassinated. We also loved JFK (and his Brother Bobbie) to death also. Too bad there isn’t a John Lennon day here in the States. Just think, a three day weekend of “Love, love love” and giving peace a chance. Won’t happen; he was a Brit, but we still loved him to death over here. O K. Enough of the political rant. I don’t want anyone to think of me as being way out there in left wing la la land. When it comes to La La land, I want to be smack dab in the middle.

This whole thing is really about bumper stickers and how they attempt to sum-up complex political views into a nifty phrase, clearly visible from 50 feet away. America…Love It Or leave It was a big one in the 60’s. A lot of my buddies back them were lovin’ America so much, that they were leaving it for Vietnam. I preferred the sticker: Draft Beer, Not Students”.

There were religious bumper stickers too. You got to remember the one that said: “The Answer Is” then some garbled letters. You had to underline the script to find out that JESUS was the correct answer. I had great stoner fantasies about that one, pretending the Answer was: “Legalize Pot”, or “Everybody Get Naked and Screw”.  My favorite religious one was the “I Found It” sticker.. Found WHAT? You guessed it; correct answer, Jesus. [Some would argue that the correct answer is always Jesus.] The Jews had a great come-back sticker: “We Never Lost It”. Mine would have been “I Had It Crammed Down My Throat Since Birth, And Am Now Breathing A Lot More Easier Since The Blockage Was Removed”.

So everybody’s driving around in America loving to share their views on everything , via car bumper-sticker. Some real inane stuff Like I (heart shape) my dog, or Save The Whales, and we can’t forget Tibet… Wow, who could take issue with that. Even the Japanese want to save the whales…but just for desert. The best antidote for all the (heart-shaped) things drivers love, was provided by the National Lampoon. For a modest fee, you could buy a roll of round adhesive stickers with a picture of a machine screw on it. The idea was, when you’ve just seen too much of what people (heart-shaped), you could peel one off and stick it over the heart shape. Sure changed the message folks wanted made public about themselves.

Anyway, this has gone on too far. What was your favorite bumper sticker?

Comments on: "Love It or Leave It" (30)

  1. I don’t like bumper stickers. I don’t put them on my car because you can’t remove them so easily. I hate those My child made Honor Roll stickers at such and such school. They only make those for elementary schools. Anybody can be an honor student in elementary school. Bumper stickers are for people who need validation and try to convince others by sticking them on their cars.

  2. Once upon a time, I remembered what my favorite sticker was, but now I’ve forgotten. I did like the sign in the stands of the Packer-Bears game last night. “My cheating X-boyfriend is watching the game from his couch”

    I also like t-shirts with “I’m with stupid” and the arrow pointing up

    I also like yooper hats.

    I also like polish jokes

    I also like you.

    Make ya afraid?

  3. I also wouldn’t put one on my car. But, one of the best I’ve seen is one that says: Be Nice To America, Or We’ll Bring Democracy To Your Country.

  4. LBJ: Light Bulb Johnson
    Turn him out in November.

    AUH2O(gold-water)

  5. Hansi,
    As a 35 year LA resident I can certify that in LA you are a centrist. In SF you’d probably be considered a right wing loon. So hang tough with your principles. Don’t let anybody tell you what to think.

  6. “buy australian” on a korean car and my favourite “my car ran over my dogma” .. 🙂

  7. After reading this I thought … damn … make money with Words of Wisdom by Hansi …. kind of a variation of Hansi on Tape.

  8. Mine fav was “Nuke A Gay Baby Whale For Christ”…..Happy New Year

  9. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    I’ve always had a soft spot for, “My Dog is Smarter Than Your Honor Student.” Of course, I would. And most of the time, I think it’s quite true!

  10. //What was your favorite bumper sticker?//

    I forgot the brand name… but I bought, like ten bucks of that duct tape. and it stuck the bumper on pretty good!

  11. Terrance H. said:

    Even the Japanese want to save the whales…but just for desert.

    ROTFLMAO.

    I don’t know why, but that cracked me up. So did the “Lick Bush” sticker in your drawing. LOL.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

