mind expanding nonsense

Crayola Saturday

I was going to write about a lot of stuff.  About how this blog started just about this time last year; how I’m following a lot more art/drawing bloggers and really diggin’ it; or maybe something political.  But I totally spaced on it all and have come up short.  But it is Crayola Friday, now renamed Crayola Saturday to avoid confusion, and I’m gonna talk drawing.

I’ve started to follow a lot more people who are posting their art on their blogs, and I’m lovin’ it.  For me, starting a blog was a godsend drawing-wise.  Not only did I now have an outlet for my artwork, but a reason to keep at it, and hone my draftsmanship skills.  I don’t consider myself an “Artist”, although I did major in Art in college during the late sixties, as did my wife.  For most of the time between college and now, the glorious land of retirement, I was more of a potter, than drawer.  In fact, when friends see my blog, their usual comment is, ” Oh, I didn’t know you could draw.”

From the late eighties till now, I was a part-time studio potter, throwing hand-made functional ware ( bowls, mugs, plates etc.) on my wheel out in the backyard, and selling the stuff at local craft shows.  I have a gas kiln, two electric kilns, a wheel, and garage filled with a shit-load of ceramic supplies (make my own glazes).  I stopped selling pottery soon after I discovered I could make time and a half working over-time at our local Juvenile Hall. Sell out?  I prefer: renting myself to the highest bidder.

Anyway, I’ve always drawn throughout my life.  And just today, my grandson was sitting down to draw something, when some of my recent drawings slipped out of the sketch pad I was letting him use.  After hurriedly trying to hide my raunchier stuff, he asked me when I stared drawing.  I told him I started right about his age, 8 years old, maybe earlier.  I told him about the joys of drawing, which he, and most kids, already know, and shared some of my experiences with art.

Got me to thinking about my drawing.  What the hell is it?  How would one describe it?  How would I describe it???

Well it is what it is.  One of my biggest influences, besides my usual medication, was Mad magazine and the art of some of it’s earliest illustrators: Bill Elder, Jack Davis, and Wallace Wood in particular.  You might call them cartoonists, but they were actually quite good comic book illustrators, and among the best of their times.  The other big influence was the Surrealist Movement, and Salvador Dali.

I don’t usually draw from life.  I’m not attempting to do serious art.  And everything you see stems from my rich fantasy life.  Maybe that’s why ya might just notice certain themes running through my work again and again.

Bottom line is, there is no bottom line!  I’m able to just do “art for art’s sake”  Nothing’s for sale.  Big difference from trying to sell pottery.  And to all those who may be doing something similar with their art and blogging, I hope you’re enjoying it as much as I am.  [If  I’m following you, you better believe I like what you’re doing.]  And what’s really cool is,  all my drawings are out there for all to see.  Sorta like an On-line gallery.

If any of you out their in the Twilight Zone they call the Blog-O-Sphere are closet artists, get out a digital camera and post them puppies.  Don’t worry about what people may think.   I obviously don’t.

.

Comments on: "Crayola Saturday" (28)

  1. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    Your drawing style captivates me. You do have a rich fantasy life, but lucky you! You get an escape hatch from the day to day. I love that last drawing and thank you for encouraging others to share. I spend a lot of time, too on art blogs. I do that more than going to the downtown galleries. But I’ve learned a lot and my art has been enriched by it!

    • Thanks. I’m a big fan of your work. I’m just starting to scratch the surface of artistic folks out their blogging.

      ________________________________

  2. Enjoy seeing the figments of your imagination each day. Keep em coming.

  3. You are very talented! Have you tried your hand at other art forms like music or painting?

    I can see how the house of pain must create an interesting left brain/right brain conflict for you 🙂

    • Thanks. I haven’t painted in years, and now rarely touch my electric guitar (but it’s there ready when the mood strikes). The House of Pain is a mega left-brain activity, but serves mainly as a vehicle to finance my right-brain activity 🙂

      ________________________________

  4. I very much like your artwork. I’m conflicted about art. I love to play with oil paint. Mixing colors and creating color “creations”. They are not art in any real sense, since I cannot draw a circle, let alone a face. I refuse to call throwing paint on a canvas by buckets full, and dribbling from a huge brush ala pollack, “art.” But I admit, it’s in the eye of the beholder. My “art” is art to me, since it pleases me. But I have no expectation that anyone else would think so. If Pollack could draw then kudos to him, but the crap that sells for millions of his, is just that, crap. I can splatter paint all over with the best of them, and so can a chimpanzee. Where to draw the line? I am conflicted as I said. You say?

    • Maybe you’re not so conflicted, but unsure of yourself. There was more to Pollock than just splattering paint. Yeah, anyone could do it, but they didn’t. He was the first, and he did it on a large scale. If ya love to play with oil paint , DO IT! It’s all about having fun and exploration; in your case color. Post one of your pieces. Let us see. Don’t let the “I can’t draw” notion get in your way. Anyway, the whole drawing thing is 99% about looking, seeing, and practice. 1% talent.

      I’m happy ya like my drawings. It’s really fun doing and posting them.

      ________________________________

  5. I see connections between your drawings and pots. They’re about shapes and roundnesses.

    Very happy you’re in the Twilight Zone with the rest of us, Hansi. It’s comfy having you here x

    • Wow, you’re more perceptive than I am. I like that connection between drawing and pottery; shapes and volume. See ya in the next episode of the….Twilight Zone.

      ________________________________

  6. Terrance H. said:

    Hansi,

    I don’t have any issue with artists selling their work, but it’s awesome and inspiring when people do it just to do it. There is no doubt then that the work is authentic, coming from the heart, or some dark corner of the mind. LOL.

    You’re very talented. And I dig Dali, too. But he was a bit eccentric, to say the least.

  7. Hansi,
    What impresses me is that blogging has introduced you to other ‘artists’ who blog giving you a chance to find more value in what you do and getting insight about what other ‘artists’ are thinking and why they do what they do. I tend to think big picture. To me the art is really about the life you create. Drawings, pots, children, relationships are the artifacts of that art. I think of your blog as evidence that I’m on the right tract with my thinking.

  8. I enjoy your art and it’s fun getting some insight into how it developed.

  9. Thanks for sharing your story. Drawing is definitely not in my genes, but I recall a conversation with an artist that tried to convince me other wise. His philosophy is that drawing is about lines … straight ones, curved ones, and the proportions between them.

    After that conversation, I recall looking around the room at the objects … and thinking about the lines, curves, and proportions … and i actually created something!

    Meanwhile … thanks for your work and humor … and the last drawing cracks me up.

    • Thanks, and your artist friend was correct. When drawing, one uses the right side of their brain, which is non-verbal and focuses on spacial relationships and all that type of stuff. Very pleasant place to be.

      ________________________________

  10. Yep, blogging is a fun little hobby to post the other hobby; drawing. I felt less stress and enjoyed art more after I stopped painting to sell.

    I wanted to learn pottery. I’m sorry I didn’t collect more when I was on the show circuit. Now that I think it, you ever put any of those naked folks on your pottery? You seem to like’m naked. 🙂

    • Actually I did draw some naked women in the bottoms of some bowls I did. They sold like hot-cakes at a woman’s symposium my wife attended.

      ________________________________

  11. What a pleasing style. But you know what, I was first drawn to your blog by your honest humor, to have it combined with art is bonus. Thanks. And thanks for the words that we need to do what we enjoy doing (not listening to the critic).

  12. Keep drawing! My dad, who never had a spare moment to pick up a pencil to draw in all his years, finally after retirement, started to draw and paint. He derived soo much pleasure and pride from his work. Even today challenged with dementia, playing with color is one of the few things in which he can still derive pleasure and pride. NEVER stop making art.

  13. A great post! Interesting perspectives in here!
    “art for art’s sake”!! Absolutely!!!

    I’ve also learned to draw what I like without thinking about other’s possible comments or opinions.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

