mind expanding nonsense

Why Is Shit Pissing Me Off ?


Pretty cool title. Two bathroom humor laden topics in one sentence. Could have added the “F” word a couple of times to make it even more potty mouthed, but thought to myself,  “Phuck-it, that’d be a little too goddamn much.”  I think you know what I mean though , and that’s why I love slang and street terms so much; they’re oh so descriptive and say things succinctly. A more clear title would have been “Why are certain things irritating me so much?” But certain things aren’t just ‘irritating me’; Shit is pissing me off!!!

But why?  Well that’s a no-brainer, I don’t like the way things are going and want it my way. Now I never though I used to be that way, but increasingly I’m seeing the way things are; the way things work, as not necessarily being in my own interests, let alone for my benefit. Maybe it’s because I’m getting older. Maybe it’s because I’m a little more helpless. Maybe I’m dependent on certain institutions remaining in place as were promised: Social Security and my pension in particular. And don’t want forces beyond my control to mess with them.  Hey, I played by the rules for forty years; don’t go changing them on me now. That’s the kind of shit that’s pissing me off.

Perhaps I’m in an advanced stage of Geezer-hood and that comes with the territory. Like becoming forgetful during the early stages of Alzheimer’s. They didn’t have Alzheimer’s when I was a kid. You just had a bunch of crazy old folks running around. Now I can catch that disease, and there’s even more stuff to be afraid of. New Boogie-men hiding in the dark! Thought I out-grew that irrational fear thing.

I wonder if it’s all just in my head, or is it real? I know we’re being constantly reminded of all the bad shit that can happen as we age. And I’m thinking about it all the time. Even when I’m harmlessly using the computer. There’s always scary stories on Yahoo. And if you go to Yahoo Finance, damn, you’ll think you ain’t ever gonna retire. Or worse yet, survive retirement. I mean like I even went back to work at the House of Pain, just as a little hedge against uncertainty. But when has there ever been Certainty?

You know what’s far out? I’m embracing parts of getting older, “Geezer-hood”, as I prefer to call it. Having a lot of free time to pursue interests fully. Not having to impress people. Not having to live up to certain standards. Not “having” to be in the work-force…all that 60’s hippie stuff. There’s a freedom I’m enjoying by jumping fully into Geezer-hood. So why is shit pissing me off? Because I’m resisting the dementia that is the world today. But when I immerse myself into Geezer-hood fully, I realize that my own dementia is just part of the worldly dementia, and I feel right at home…Everything is crazy.

Oh yea…The above drawing really has nothing to do with the content of this post, unless of course it’s a glimpse into my own form of dementia.  The one below does.

Comments on: "Why Is Shit Pissing Me Off ?" (23)

  1. Hansi,
    Shit is pissing your off because that is what shit does. When shit stops pissing you off its because you are in so much shit you don’t even notice. When you need to worry is when the good stuff starts pissing you off.

  2. I think you are going to be up for the Nobel prize in physics! You have disproved the Law of Conservation of Energy by demonstrating that the amount of dementia at large in the world at any given moment is greater than the sum of the individual contributions of dementia of all the people in the world. Or something like that.

  3. But when has there ever been Certainty?
    Never.

  4. What’s the worst disease an alcoholic can get? Well you would think liver disease or pancreas problems. Nope. Alzheimer. Can’t remember where you put your stash.

  5. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    I alternate regularly between getting p’o’d and depressed and anxious. It’s a battle to stay upright some days. And then, all of sudden, something great will happen and I go back at it again. Pay attention to whatever little great things happen, Hansi. Hang in there and keep drawing – though I have to say, these ones are particularly intriguing.

    • It’s amazing what having a positive attitude can do for ya. I’m finding that in these crazy times, practicing Compassion and Lovingkindness is the best antidote for all the shit going down around us. The drawings even intrigue me sometimes 🙂

  6. The best thing to do, is not to be afraid. Things happen all the time – good and bad – and someday some realy realy big bag of shit will drop on you and you won’t even see it coming. So why be afraid of something you don’t know?

    • That’s good advice Knut. Fear is mostly being afraid of the unknown, and if you Know a bag of shit will fall on you at sometime, well then there’s nothing really to be afraid of.

  7. Better to be pissed than shat?

    The drawing up top is cool. Nice use of color! It works really well.

  8. It seems the appropriate mode when you get to our age. It’s just fun to grumble a lot. People think you are funny and laugh. I like that. Knowing that I am the sanest person in the room most of the time is way cool. I intend that always to be so. When nothing anymore pisses me off, I can be sure I’m not among the living. And that will be a coolness of its own I guess.

  9. Ah, the joys of growing old but it’s still better than the alternative.

    Bill

  10. I don’t think it has all that much to do with getting older. Things genuinely suck right now!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

