mind expanding nonsense

Life Without The Internet

Although I love to ridicule them, I still love the Word Press blog idea prompts. Only get em if ya publish though. This one hit a little closer to home for me: “What’s the longest you’d want to live without Internet access?”

See what I mean. There’s a shit-load of possible answers there, and all good for blog fodder. Some of my first answers were:

Until I die of natural causes.

Two days.

Until some one came around and put me out of my misery.

And lastly…. There’s life without Internet access?

But that got me to thinking about life before the Internet. The big thing for me as a kid was getting a TV in the early 50’s.  Cartoons, then the Mickey Mouse club; and Annette! It only got better. A superb stereo system in the 70’s, and life got sweet. Didn’t get much better than that. And you know what? I didn’t get much better than that. Has all this technology really improved my life that much? I don’t think so. Seems like I may be missing out on some experiences cause I’m too busy keeping up with things in this ever more-so “connected” world.

Sure there’s a lot of information available, some even useful, like when ya want to know how to get someplace. Oh yeah! You can also save on postage stamps with e-mail. But I’m getting an information over-load and I ain’t getting any happier; I’m getting pissed! Why the hell am I sitting in front of a computer watching a screen when I could be outside watching my green beans grow? Talking to my carrots. Picking them big fat evil green worms off of my tomatoes.

So….here I sit. In front of the computer, listening to music I’ve downloaded blasting out of a pretty good stereo system, dreaming up strange bullshit for the whole world to enjoy. Well medicated and having a good time. Doesn’t get much better than that. Shit, I can’t live without this.

And thank you Word press for another inspirational blog post. You guys are the best!

See people do actually use those lame prompts for blog posts.

Comments on: "Life Without The Internet" (18)

  1. Hansi,
    Those tomato hornworms will wait. You’ve got blogging to do.

  2. haha, “you guys are the best!”

    I can just picture you with the music on, dreaming up bullshit while the worms are feasting on your tomatoes. Thanks for adding to my fun, Hansi x

  3. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    Get a lap top and take it outside with you. There you go – write a sentence, squash a tomato hornworm. Love the illustration!

    • That’s a good idea for a new post. Hey I don’t need WordPress prompts. Look for my next post, on Virtually Squashing Bugs. 🙂

  4. Imagine if you had been born a few hundred years earlier? What would you have done for a living? What would you do for recreation? Where were the fans?

  5. It’s interesting to think about answering that question literally rather than figuratively. In a world without the internet, how long would you want to live?

    • Well into my nineties. But I managed to live without the Internet for the first forty years of my life. Is this stuff addictive?

  6. Your sister Heidi said:

    Hansi, tell me if I’m wrong, but didn’t we spent the first 50 some years of our lives without Internet and didn’t we get along quite well without it? We actually bought newspapers and magazines, looked things up in our encyclopedia or went to the library, we talked to other people face to face and these were the sources of our information. OK, I admit the Internet is more convenient and much faster, but I do sometimes miss the personal touch. Although, without Internet, I wouldn’t to able to talk to you over Skpe when ever we want.
    But what I definitely can do without is the f—— cell phone!!! I do not want to be available 24 hours a day! You might say, “Turn it off.” But then I get e-mails that my phone is not connected and there is a message on my box!

  7. Great question! For me since I am a political geek and get most if not all my info from the internet….I will have to say 6 hours before I become homicidal….in the past I was a writer that had to make up names to use in the local paper because they limited me to two a month….I would still write but without the instant gratification…bummer.

    BTW…hornworms are more preferable than brain worms…..LOL

    • Wow, now that’s being creative, writing letters to the editor using pseudonyms. Could have taken that to the limit using different persona’s with different views for each name. Then you could have arguments with yourself and dominate the whole section. Something to think about.

  8. it was odd, but i actually had 3 1/2 days away from the net, it was most refreshing and i didn’t even think of it while away, but i sure caught up when i got back .. 🙂

  9. I loved the answers you came up with. Mine is “a weekend.” My access was down for one weekend. By Monday, I felt like a smack junkie who missed the bus to their methadone clinic.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

