mind expanding nonsense

7-10-11

Sometimes when I have a lot going on in my life, I find it difficult to come up with new, fresh Blog material and illustrations to match.  I don’t know about you, but having a blog you want to keep up with and keep current can add a bit of pressure to one’s life.  And I find that pressure is not conducive to creativity, in fact even stifles it.  So what to do??

For me, I like to got to my psychedelic journal, and with no specific agenda, just write and draw whatever comes to mind and go with it.  Well Sunday afternoon was one of them days.

Boy,  It sure felt good to get that out of my system.  Sure hope you have a similar vehicle for expression that gives you the chance to just go with the flow.

Comments on: "7-10-11" (18)

  1. I can see where this could be therapeutic. Unfortunately, I am one with no artistic talent. Enjoy yours a great deal.

  2. Very nice. My outlet is reality television – mind numbingly stupid, but a nice break.

  3. Some days I could just so easily go to bed the minute the kids are asleep and sitting down to draw can be hard when I’m tired.
    After an absence of a few years I don’t think I would do without it again so I’m happy for the pressure even if some days I don’t draw as well I would like to, I think, “It could be worse, at least you are drawing every day”. I
    ‘m so much happier for it.

    • I know what you mean about drawing when one is tired. I think expectation to really do something great keeps me from drawing more, but when I just sit down and start scribbling, then something appears and it’s off we go.

  4. When I have trouble going with the flow, I take a shower. 🙂

    Believe it or not, the isolation chamber of a shower often helps.

    I just stopped by to thank you for your fun contribution to my latest Limerick-Off!

  5. I go for a walk–but it hasn’t been working lately!

  6. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    the heat has made me lazy and dull. i’m finding it difficult to get back to my painting routine. i’m allowing myself just a little break. I do enjoy what you’ve doodled here, though!

    • I find that it’s more than OK to give one’s self a break sometimes when it comes to creative endeavors. For me, it takes the pressure off, and when I return to the ol sketch pad, I do so with renewed zeal. Don’t want this blogging thing to turn into work 🙂

  7. It seems drawing is an easier form of communication for you Hansi. Blogs are perfect as you can use both at the same time. I wish I had your talent, I always enjoy visiting here as it’s an interesting experience.

    John
    Leamington Spa, England

    • Yeah…sometimes drawing is the preferred means of communication for me. I did a lot of writing in my career as a Probation Officer, mostly dry court reports, so although I do like to play with words, I like pencil a lot more.

  8. Good post! I like it! My outlet is the weekends….I have drafts saved so that I do not have to dirty my mind with the insanity of the day……and my blog….a great release!

  9. Hansi, my going with the flow comes out of a bottle, the best flow there is.

    Bill
    A-U-L, UK

    http://billmurney.com/blog/how-do-you-tell-the-difference-between-a-british-police-officer/

  10. Blogged for almost a year now. I had decades of stuff that could be redone and modernized from before I knew what a blog was. Or a computer for that matter. . Some I had to throw away. I mean nowatimes who would appreciate a joke about good ol President McKinley or with whom I could share our awe and joy when the town got its first telephone down at the fire station. It’s a tough pace to get quality stuff up there day after day. Gonna have to cut back to 3, maybe 4 a week.

    • I know what ya mean about the tough pace. I find that I’m blogging less and enjoying it more with about three posts a week. Hey I’m retired, as you are, why put a lot of pressure on one’s self. But then again, if inspiration strikes, ya gotta go with it. It’s really a joy for me to find folks like you in the blog-o-sphere having fun withit all and being creative.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

