udder nonsense

Too Much Thinking And Doing

11-20-13 009

Sometimes I just like to stop.  Slow down.  Become still and sit.  And while in this highly relaxed state, focus my attention on my breath.  Concentrating on and following the in-breath and the out-breath.  Nothing else.  Except Nothing Else is pretty hard.  That’s because thinking rears its ugly head, and before ya know it, you’re in another world fully locked into fantasies, planing for a future event, or re-living something from the past, totally forgetting about the breath, let alone that there’s an in-breath or an out-breath.

Damn, I hate it when that happens, cause it means I’m not relaxed or mentally still, but in an agitated state absorbed into a story-line that resembles a Bob Dylan song.  Thankfully, I eventually realize that I’m not following my breath, but wrapped-up in a bunch of bullshit that isn’t even real, but imaginations that come and go and are rarely remembered.  Maybe that’s called awareness.  Realizing that I was not present but wrapped up in thought, some of which is interesting, some of which can be frightening.  And there I go again, off on another tangent, and not present with my breath.

I guess you can call this whole process meditation.  What’s interesting about meditation, is not being off in LaLa-land somewhere, but developing awareness, and being able to clearly see what is going on in your mind.  The big “Insight” gained by this practice is that nothing is permanent, but arises as a result of something else (conditioned transitory events) which are in a constant state of flux and not worthy of holding onto.  Trippy stuff.

 

Comments on: "Too Much Thinking And Doing" (4)

  1. Trippy stuff, yeah. I know this, and I wish I could keep it in mind constantly: You are not your thoughts – especially the ones that beat you up. Happy Thanksgiving, Hansi. Have a meditative and joyful day!

  2. The same thing happens to me when attempting to fall asleep at night. As hard as I try to shut things out, sometimes my thoughts go into overdrive and I’ll toss and turn for hours.

  3. Would be of interest see this in poem version

  4. Yes, it’s hard to live in the moment

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

